TURNS OUT PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT BOOKS AREN’T AS CORNY AS I ONCE THOUGHT

Maria Blaze
3 min readMay 23, 2021

Personal Development books that actually don’t get on my nerves

I really was surprised. This thing is not corny! I always heard about people going to the self-help aisle in a book store would be the last place I would go. I never got why people would choose these books with whimsy titles. Titles that would go something like You Could be Happy in 100 days or Santa is Jolly So Should You be. Ok, I am being a bit extra on these titles, but I am telling you its close to it.

About three or four years ago I knew I wanted to make a change. It was due to the fact that I was just not happy. I do have anxiety and depression so that did not help matters much either, but I did not want to be using that as an excuse either. I was not happy with my financial situation. I felt like I was not being a good mom to my kids. After a string of toxic relationships, I decided I needed to make a change and feel more me.

That was a lot of it. I did not feel like the person I was when I was in high school. When I was in school I had all these hopes and dreams of what big things I was going to accomplish in my life. It was not going my way. Someone told me about this book by Rachel Hollis called “Girl Wash Your Face”. That is the book that fully got me into personal development.

I enjoyed it because she was real with the way that she wrote and humorous. She was very down-to-earth and actually been through things I could relate to. From then I started looking into videos of whatever I could find that could help me grow and develop myself into a better person.

I just got done listening to an audiobook by Marie Forleo called Everything is Figureoutable. That book basically informs you on how to change your mindset so you believe everything can change. It’s an excellent book I highly recommend it.

When it comes down to looking for a mentor who you need to find someone that you relate to. Once I heard the name of the book I would start doing video searches to get more information to see what talks the author as given and things of that nature.

My life is not perfect. There is still a lot more work I need to put in. I at least come to a realization that there is a wealth of information out there. A lot of it free of information. If you really want to improve your life it’s a search away. I m not saying it’s going to be easy. It’s definitely not at times but personal development does help to get your mindset on the right path.

--

--

Maria Blaze

I am 34 year old aspiring writer, mother and future business owner. I believe it's important to follow your dreams even if your the only one who believes in you